New addition: Steve Earle – Guitar Town (1986)

guitar townSteve Earle’s debut … a very fine debut, too.  Picked this up today for £3 in that ol’ record haunt of mine, Record Fayre.  A good shop … and today, like Saturday, I could have picked up a few more.  Me, though, I was happy with this.  Cause it’s just everything I love about Steve Earle.  Wonderful songs with loads of heart and he’s kicking dust all over the place.

Plus, Springsteen could only wish he could write songs as good as the title track or Someday.

An absolute wee treat on a Tuesday.  Seriously.

7 Comments

    1. A pound is a magic price! I’d buy this a second time if I seen it for a pound. One o’ my favourite Steve Earle albums for sure …

      Like

  1. Springsteen doesn’t stand a chance of doing what Steve Earle is doing these days. I still think that this has to be his best album. Nice post

    Like

    1. Couldn’t agree more. As much as I enjoy Springsteen’s music, he’s been sounding lost and more irrelevant over the years. Don’t reckon he’s done anything consistently inspired in a very, very long time. Earle, however, just seems to go from strength to strength.

      Like

    1. Guitar Town is a great album and probably one of my favourites from Earle’s impressive catalogue. Aside from it being a tad glossy at times, I reckon it stands tall next to his post-jail stuffs …

      Like

Leave a Reply

