Bought a couple more records yesterday at the Record Fayre.  I honestly don’t reckon I’ve went in there for a look around and left feeling like it wasn’t a worthwhile endeavour.  Yesterday I unearthed a couple o’ wee bargains – Songs Of Leonard Cohen and a copy of Tattoo You, which just happens to be one of my favourite Rolling Stones albums.  Strangely enough, I was close to buying both of these albums last week at the record fair I’d dropped in on.  Would have cost me a fair deal more, too.  Double, actually.

I was actually more chuffed about getting Tattoo You.  Now, some might consider that peculiar and I certainly know a few folks who aren’t big fans of that particular Stones record.  However, I honestly think it’s an incredible record.  Surprisingly, it’s mostly composed of outtakes recorded during the ’70s (there’s also a couple that had been recorded during the Emotional Rescue sessions – another album that’s under-appreciated, I reckon).

Anyhoo, it was £7 well spent.  Can’t complain about that, can you?  Back to thinking about the next ‘All-timer’ post!

2 thoughts on “September Records (1 & 2 … there’ll likely be at least another one or so)

  1. I’m one of those Tattoo You non-believers I’m afraid, although I probably last heard it in 1989 … so my usual level of precise, well-informed opinion there then.

    Like

    1. Definitely worthwhile revisiting. I remember thinking it was pretty useless for a long time. Then WHAM! Just like that I was on my feet shouting “you rock” at the stereo.

      Like

Leave a Reply

