So, 2014 has been over a few weeks now and I’ve had a chance to mull over the best additions to my collection this year.  Like 2013, I’ve added a bunch of my favouries.  I’ve also caught up with records that I missed in 2013 and added a bunch o’ reissues.  I’ve upped the list to 20 this year cause, well, cause I happened to get more records.  While not a list of the best albums I bought, this is a run-down of my favourite additions.  The ones that I was right excited about.

#15 Ry Cooder – Paris, Texas (1986)

paris, texasPicked this one up for £2.50 back in August.  One o’ them brilliant finds.  I bought the CD way back in 2012 when I was really discovering Ry Cooder and replacing that became a priority when I picked up the record player.  Didn’t imagine I’d see it so cheap, though.  Anyhoo, it’s had many a spin – I could honestly just keep flipping this record and listen to it for hours.  But then, there’s loads more music to listen to and things to be done, right?  The closing salvo of I Knew These People and Dark Was The Night remains an absolutely wonderful experience.  Absolutely incredible stuff.  No matter how familiar you get with it.

# 14 Calexico – Feast of Wire (2003)
calexico

This has been a favourite of mine since I first heard it back in 2004.  Quite possibly Calexico’s finest moment, really.  I didn’t really need to think too hard about this one when I spotted it in Fopp for £10.  Seriously nice record and I reckon that was a wee bargain – an album that just keeps delivering something new each time I spin it.

#13 Frank Sinatra – In The Wee Small Hours (1955)
wee small

Another record that was part of my splendiferous October haul.  This one arrived courtesy of the Record Fayre.  I had been looking out for this one a while when I spotted it among the bundle of ‘still-to-be-put-out’ records sitting behind the counter.  £2, too.  It’s an outstanding mood record for sure, but more importantly it’s one of Sinatra’s finest, and his performances here really highlight that he was peerless.  This here is a 1984 re-issue with the original cover, but it’s a fine find.

#12 Brad – Shame (1993)
brad

I haven’t been one for looking at reissues too often.  Mostly because I find them to be a tad overpriced.  However, I tend to have a shifty at them when it comes to picking up some of my favourite albums from the 90s.  For example, do I spend upwards of £50 on a copy of Brad’s 1993 debut on Discogs or look at buying the 2013 Razor & Tie reissue?  I opted for the latter (£12.64 inc. postage from Amazon Marketplace) and would recommend it to anyone looking for that LP.  One of the best additions to my collection for sure.

#11 Bob Dylan – Highway 61 Revisited (1965)
highway 61 revisited

This was a gift from my brother.  Back in April I received a text from my brother telling me he “threw a record in the mail”.  I had completely forgot that he said he had a spare copy of this and that he’d send it to me.  Given that it’s one of those albums I get lost in, I was completely surprised that I’d forgotten that part of our conversation weeks earlier.  This here is an original mono version – which was also ace, as I hadn’t heard the mono version.  It’s old.  The cover’s a bit tatty.  But it plays wonderfully.  As you could imagine, this record has been played and played and played.

Part 1 – #20 to #16

4 thoughts on “Back To Black – 2014: A Year In Vinyl (Part 2 of 4)

  1. I never turn my nose up at re-issues either. It’s a no-brainer: take the vinyl in the hand.
    And every home should have a copy of Highway 61. It and Blood on the Tracks are the two Bob-essentials, for mine.
    Again, wonderful diversity J.

    Like

    1. That’s the two essential Bob albums that grace my collection (I also have Infidels, while is actually one I like a lot – and the subject of an up-coming post). Few others to add, but I’m not in such a hurry to do so – though I must admit to being keen to add Oh Mercy.

      Like

Leave a Reply

