Welcome back to 2014: A Year In Vinyl.  In this installment we’ll be meeting records #10 to #6.  Like I say, not necessarily the best albums I bought, but this list is a run-down of my favourite additions.  The ones that I was right excited about – be it because I don’t see them too often (if at all),or they were just right bargains.  Hurrah!

#10 Harry Nilsson – Knnillssonn (1977)
harry

The story goes that after several years in the creative wilderness, RCA were really excited when they heard this.  Unfortunately, though, events conspired against Harry and Knnillssonn was released to little fanfare and via the backdoor as Elvis Presley left the building.  I picked this one up for £4.49 back in January from Record Fayre and was pretty pleased about it, too.  I’m a big fan of this one – there’s some really tremendous string arrangements and cover art by Klaus Voorman (which can make you a tad dizzy).

# 9 Sparks – Kimono My House (1974)
kimono

A £3 purchase at The Record Fayre and a total no-brainer.  Sparks are a band that my ol’ man likes and while my brother snagged his Sparks LPs, I’d only ever been interested in this one and Propaganda, and I’d getting by with the reissued CD copies of both from a few years back.   However, now I have them both on vinyl (Propaganda was bought for £3.00 from the Record Fayre back in August 2013) and the CDs have found new home.  Delighted when I seen this and it was one of those ‘hold tight’ moments.  For those who don’t know it, Kimono My House is their third album and it’s absolutely incredible.  It’s quirky, funny, rocking and infectious.  All Sparks’ ingredients are here, but I don’t think they delivered as consistently as they did on this one.  Wonderful stuff.  As you can imagine, the record had some scuffs, but nothing that has a negative effect.  Marvellous.  Utterly marvellous!

# 8 Jane’s Addiction – Nothing’s Shocking (1988)
jane

Everyone should have a copy of this album.  Or two copies.  I picked this up in Mixed-Up for £12 and I pretty much danced all the way home.  It had been an album that I had wanted to pick up for a while, particularly as I had already added the debut and Ritual de lo Habitual.  I figured this would just round off that collection.  I was right, too.  They look real nice lined up together.  This also sounds ace played loud.  Don’t believe me?  Ask my neighbours.  Only kidding.  I don’t play music that loud.  That wouldn’t be neighbourly.

# 7 Spirit – Twelve Dreams of Dr. Sardonicus (1970)
spizit

#10 on my list last year, but appears here again due to finding this very wonderful copy on eBay.  Nice yellow label in the tidy gatefold sleeve.  All in seriously awesome condition for a grand total of £9 (£5.50 plus £3.50 postage).  Honestly, this is one of my most favouritest albums ever and this was a major ‘win’.  Hurrah!

# 6 Screaming Trees – Dust (1996)
dust

So.  I had an original copy of this album that I’d bought back in 1998 or so.  Sadly it had warped.  Didn’t look bad, but it sounded dreadful.  I cried.  Real tears.  It was an album that I have listened to regularly since 1996.  First receiving a copy on tape and then buying the CD.  Anyway, I decided to buy the Music On Vinyl reissue after spotting a copy on the Amazon Marketplace for £13.90 (plus £1.26 postage).  Really pleased I did, too.  It really sounds pretty excellent.  Seriously excellent.  According to MoV, the original metal parts were used for the press.  As with most of the MoV reissues, the artwork is a tad off (due to low resolution source files, I assume), but it honestly doesn’t matter too much.  This is ace.  Really pretty ace and a suitable replacement for that ol’ warped original.

Part 2 – #15 to #11

16 thoughts on “Back To Black – 2014: A Year In Vinyl (Part 3 of 4)

    1. Those are all great albums. Plenty pleased to learn that they’re all on the 1001 and that you’ve yet to lend your ears. I’ll be looking forward to reading your thoughts …

      Like

    1. Sometimes you just gotta work with what you got, eh? I’ll make more of an effort with my hair for the next batch.

      As for Sparks: yes, you do need it – I completely agree. I believe there was a 40th Anniversary (40th!!!) ‘deluxe’ reissue released at the end of last year …

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Obviously as an Adonis I’m free to make comments like that!

        I remember there being a bity of a fuss about the quality of the original vinyl on ‘Dust’ – I’ve bought the reissue too; a top 20 LP for me, on the right day.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I think the reissue is a bit more dynamic, I dunno if that’s due to poor mastering back in the 90s (aimed at CD). I dunno.

        I’ve read that the MoV Stone Temple Pilots stuff is quite an improvement on the originals – though I can’t personally comment on those.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

