I’ve been enjoying a break from work over the last 7 days.  It’s allowed me to get through a bunch of records that I haven’t yet gotten ’round to listening to an awfy lot.  Today we had a saunter over to Glasgow’s West End before nabbing some lunch and I picked up a couple of records in Mixed-Up.
newThe pick of the bunch is Santana’s Abraxas.  I’d been looking out for that one since Bruce’s splendid More than Abraxas post a while back.  I was total struck by the painting and that got me wanting to check out the album (naturally).  Anyway, spotted it today for £4.  Few surface marks, but nothing that causes any problems.  Anyway, my thoughts after one spin: a pretty secial album.  Goodbye Yellow Brickroad is only the second Elton John album to enter the collection (some, like myself a few years ago, would maybe say that’s not a bad thing).  I’d been considering this one for a while, but I was always put off by the fact it was a double LP (a double LP that boasts Candle in the Wind).  However, this MCA pressing was £3, so I thought “why not?”.  There’s a few surface marks and the previous owner has written their name on the back (top left), but I listened to this start to finish problem free.

The other two there are Ghost In The Machine by The Police and Supertramp’s Breakfast in America, which I picked up for £1 each.  I haven’t heard any Supertramp other than this one. This being the first time, too. Been close to picking it up a few times, but something else has always caught my attention.  Ghost In The Machine I bought cause it was £1 and I really like Every Little Thing She Does Is Magic.  Transpires that there’s some other good stuff on there, too

33 thoughts on “4 new records …

    1. I would certainly encourage anyone to buy Abraxas, Mike – it’s super.

      I think The Police record is the weakest of the four, though; but it could grow on me if I give it half a chance. I don’t know if I’ll check out any more of their stuff, cause I really don’t like Sting (unreasonable, perhaps).

      I’m definitely inclined to check out more Supertramp, though. I liked that a lot.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. It is weak of me to suggest that I have been scared off of Santana by his top 40 later work? I recognize the genius though!

        I hear a lot of Supertramp on the radio, and I have to admit that I have liked all the hits I have been exposed to. They’re quirky and I love the falsetto they do.

        Like

  1. I think a pretty strong case could be mounted for three of your four being ‘classics’ of mainstream pop/rock. Nothing wrong with cruising down the broad highway when you have a classy soundtrack! I’d have to re-listen to The Police to really comment – my memory is that this was a ‘collection completer’ and sounded like it! Enjoy their early stuff though, before Sting disappeared up his own chakra.

    PS. Thanks for the shoutout!

    Like

    1. No worries, Bruce – I wouldn’t have bothered with Santana had it not been for that post, y’know. Let me know your thoughts if you revisit Ghost in the Machine …

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Demolition Man! Yes! I didn’t realise that I knew that one. Had one of those “wait! what is this?” moments.

        I was looking at Wikipedia earlier and there’s a quote from Andy Summers:

        “I have to say I was getting disappointed with the musical direction around the time of Ghost in the Machine. With the horns and synth coming in, the fantastic raw-trio feel—all the really creative and dynamic stuff—was being lost. We were ending up backing a singer doing his pop songs.”

        … slick and shallow, then.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Nice finds! Love Ghost In The Machine. I had Elton John on CD back in the day. I liked Supertramp’s ‘Even In The Quietest Moments’ as well. At least I think that’s what it was called. And I’m really lacking in my Santana knowledge.

    I plan on heading to the big(ger) city next week and doing some vinyl digging myself. Hope you had a nice time away from the workplace. I plan on it next week.

    Btw, if you’re interested, I’ve got a download code for the new Soft Moon album if you want it.

    Like

    1. I’m definitely inclined to pick up more Supertramp, as I liked this one a lot. The Elton and Police records might take a few more listens. I’d really encourage exploring that Santana one if you see it. Dare say it’s a good starting point- I’m certainly inclined to go get some more.

      Good luck with the vinyl dig and the time off. It’s great just to recharge the batteries and recalibrate, eh? As for Soft Moon: yes, please! That would be ace!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I will check out Abraxas. Not sure why I haven’t gotten around to listening to it before now. I’ve also loved that album cover as well, so it should’ve been a done deal for me.

        I’ve been a fan of The Police ever since I was a little kid. “Every Breath You Take” always freaked me out, and “Don’t Stand So Close To Me” was always on the radio whenever I’d go into town with my mom as a kiddo, so those songs stuck. Wasn’t until I was a teenager that I could appreciate the musicianship. They always had a great instrumental on their early records.

        Email me at sunnydaymassacre@gmail.com and I’ll send the info to you.

        Like

      2. Right, now I’m gonna have to check out more of The Police – I only know a few tracks, but never explored further cause I don’t much like Sting (and the stories about how he treated the others in that band).

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Sting is indeed a real conceited ass, but I can’t deny he’s a damn fine songwriter. I think every album up through Ghost In The Machine is worthy of inspection, with Zenatta Mondatta being their consistently best record. Just some really great tunes and some incredible musicianship. I also quite like Stewart Copeland’s The Rhythmatist album. Worth checking out.

        Like

      4. Okay, most definitely seems like I’ll need to investigate The Police catalogue a little further. I’ve seen the records often enough and they’re relatively cheap, too – not too much of a gamble if I don’t like ’em all that much.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Abraxas is a cracking album. I’d check out Caravanserai as well although it starts to get more mystical at this point. The first album is well worth a listen. I recall almost getting thrown out of a Glasgow pub (the Doune Castle) back in the seventies when the regular band announced they were going to play Santana’s Black Magic Woman and I started to shout (a few beers perhaps) that it wasn’t a Santana song and had they never heard of Fleetwood Mac. Seems they hadn’t. As for Supertramp, Crime Of The Century was a pretty good melodic prog album if I recall.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Caravanserai will be the next one I seek out, Paul. Given I only know the stuff off that Supernatural album from the 90s, I welcome such pointers! I’ll also be sure to check out Crime of the Century.

      How was the band in that pub? Did you wish you had been thrown out?

      Like

    1. Yeah, there are a load of great songs on there. The album itself comes in a nice tri-gatefold with all the lyrics and some nice illustrations. Dare say I’ll enjoy getting to know this one …

      Like

      1. I never had the pleasure of seeing Supertramp even though I’ve been a fan since Breakfast In America was released. I’ve seen Elton once (in 1984), Santana numerous times (throughout the early- and mid-90s) and The Police twice. I second the recommendations for delving further into The Police catalog. They’ve only got 5 albums and they’re all great. I’m sure some people would be happy with a compilation but certain key songs would likely be left off. “The Bed’s Too Big Without You” is a personal favorite (from Regatta de Blanc).

        Liked by 1 person

      2. That’s impressive gig-going, Rich. Although the 90s stuff was what put me off, I would assume that Santana covered a whole range of material on stage. A lot of energy, yeah.

        I’ll keep you posted on my exploration of The Police catalogue!

        Like

  4. Nice choices. There are 4 Supertramp LP’s worth owning, and Breakfast is certainly the top. 2nd would be the fantastic, proggy, Crime Of The Century (audiophiles in the mid ’70’s used to use this to sell stereos), third the more Beatlesy Even In The Quietest Moments, and last the least immediately accessible but ultimately very enjoyable Crisis? What Crisis?

    Like

    1. Second nod to Crime Of The Century! I’ll be sure to look for that one next (still really enjoying getting to know Breakfast in America – one of my best purchases, I reckon).

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

