“Not before Christmas!”: The December Record Round-Up

It’s been quite a year. The last few months have just whizzed past … a blur, you could say.  Brilliant, though.  Truly brilliant.  I still haven’t done too much of the crate digging shenanigans, but browsing eBay and Discogs at lunchtimes and in the wee small hours has made up for it.  I did also stretch the legs a few times, resulting in a brief lunchtime flick through the racks of Fopp. And I kinda broke the ‘not before Christmas’ rule by buying a couple of records.  But, I’m fairly certain that breaking the rule was a necessity.

Here’s why …
No Bells On Sunday / Yep
Mark Lanegan Band – No Bells On sunday (2014)

eBay – £12.02 (inc. postage)

This EP has been on my list a while. Ever since I missed the opportunity to get my hands on a copy via the Merge and Vagrant websites. I had to make do with a digital copy and kept an eye on Discogs and eBay for a reasonably priced copy appearing. Never did, though.  Until now.  I like Phantom Radio loads, but this is a great companion piece.  The first side is brilliant, and Sad Lover is one of my favourite recent Lanegan Band tunes – a mash of early Trees and Laneganonica.  Smokestack Magic is right awesome, too.

I Am What I Am: Celebrating 15 Years of Yep Roc (2012)

Fopp – £5

This really is a tremendous compilation. There’s some great folks on here and a bunch of tracks I already know really well.  The line-up includes Robyn Robyn Hitchcock, Nick Lowe, Chuck Prophet and Tift Merrit, as well as Fountains of Wayne, Minus 5, Dave Alvin, John Doe & The Sadies.  Also, I know some of my friends here will appreciate the addition of Sloan (Who Taught You To Live Like That?).  Anyhoo, as well as being a nice double LP, it comes with a download code for the album as well as 20 bonus cuts!  Bargain!

Mercury
American Music Club – Mercury (1993)

Discogs – £11.49 (inc. postage)

One of my absolute favourites this one.  I’d been looking at the recent plain reissue, but spotted this on Discogs and I swiftly clicked all the buttons required to make the purchase.  Honestly delighted with this, too.  It sounds wonderful, a nice glossy inner sleeve and both the record and cover are in excellent condition.

So, that’s it.  The last ‘Record Round-Up’ of the year.  I’ll be having a wee think about my year end list shenanigans.  I’ve previously done two lists – one comprising of my top albums of the year and the other my favourite albums that I’ve added to the collection, but I’m gonna change it up this year and just combine those two lists.

In the meantime, Happy Holidays!  Hope you all have a ball wherever you are and whatever you’re doing.  See you in the New Year!

19 Comments

  1. The “Not Before Christmas” rule be damned! Well done for treating yourself to some nice pressies. I’ve had a wee (cough actually quite large cough) splurge myself.

    Hope you and the fam have a very Merry Xmas and all the best for 2016!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. These are all mighty fine selections, J.! Hot damn. That Lanegan looks mighty tasty…

    Personally, I really struggle with the Not Before Christmas rule. But I know I have to adhere because my family never knows what to get me (I always say MUSIC and they have no idea what I already have). So they always ask for a list and so I can’t very well go buy for myself! The hardest for me this year has been waiting to see if I get the new Baroness record. It only came out on the 18th, the buggers. Ah well, if it ain’t a prezzie under the tree, I’ll be snagging it post haste during Boxing Week!

    Our sincerest best wishes to you and yous this holiday season. Your first Christmas with your new wee man in the house! These are very special days.

    MERRY MERRY!

    Like

    1. Thanks, Aaron! Wishing you and the family a Merry Merry also! All the very best for 2016 …

      … and fingers crossed you get your hands on that Baroness record! 🙂

      Like

  3. Also this: “spotted this on Discogs and I swiftly clicked all the buttons required to make the purchase.”

    I am totally telling my lovely wife that it’s not just me that does this! I swear I lose track of myself and, when I come to, the order has been placed! 🙂

    Like

    1. I thought a few of my friends here would appreciate the Sloan inclusion!

      Merey Christmas to you also, Geoff. Hope you and the family have a great time and great New Year!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I got bullied into buying the ‘No Bells’ one too – I think it’s better than ‘Phantom Radio’ for my money – mine cost me £20 though!

    Have a lovely Christmas J.

    Like

  5. Is that Angkor Wat on the cover of the second record? – definitely a place I want to go sometime soon – I am late wishing all my blogging friends a Merry Christmas and joyous New Year – but consider yourself on the list J –
    Much regards, Wayne at the Cave

    Like

    1. It’s Ayutthaya, I think. Quite similar looking to Angkor Wat, though. Both have really pretty striking buildings and, I would imagine, both would be really special places to visit.

      … hope the year ahead is a good one, Wayne. All the best!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

