So, 2015 is drawing to a close and, as always, I’ve been mulling over the best additions to my collection this year. Much like last year, and the year before that, I’ve nabbed some new releases, added a bunch of my favouries, caught up with records that I missed over the last few years. Again, these may not be the best 20 albums I bought, but they are certainly the ones that I was right excited about.

#20 Jerry Reed – Ko-Ko Joe (RCA Victor, 1971)

Ko-Ko Joe

This was a gift from Craig Hughes over at Tapes For My Walkman and it’s quickly established itself as a favourite. Believe it or not, I had never actually heard a Jerry Reed album prior to this one. Now I’m on the search for more stuff – it’s funny, clever, and the songs are brilliant. A nice mix of off the map fun and some utterly perfect ‘Nashville pop’.

#19 Nilsson – Duit On Mon Dei (RCA Victor, 1975)

God's Greatest Hits

The most recent of the additions.  Truth be told I had never heard this prior to picking up the LP. You could say it was one of those Nilsson records that got painted with the old ‘diminishing returns’ brush and it’s been on my ‘wantlist’ more out of curiosity than anything else. Anyway, I spotted it in a little book and record store over in Glasgow’s West End for £3 and decided to buy it.  The record itself is in pretty excellent condition and the ‘unipak gatefold’ is intact despite looking a little worn.  A fair bit of the album is made up of sketches – tracks that don’t appear quite finished. Ringo Starr, Dr. John and Van Dyke Parks also drop in for some fun.

#18 Buena Vista Social Club – Buena Vista Social Club (World Circuit, 1997 / 2015)

BVSC

This one was a Discogs purchase. It’s not the super expensive original, but the recent repress. An album that’s been played a helluva lot in our house over the years and, given the price of originals, we’ve had our fingers crossed for a reissue. When I spotted that World Circuit had finally reissued it it was a no-brainer. I think it’s safe to say that this is my wife’s favourite album. Or at least, it’s her favourite of all my albums.

#17 The Secret Sisters – The Secret Sisters (Universal Republic Records, 2010)

Secret Sisters

This has long been a favourite over here. Bought the CD back in 2011 after seeing them at the Oran Mor. We had got tickets for that after seeing them play a tune or two on Jools Holland’s Hootnany shenanigans. The album is produced by T-Bone Burnett and it’s a selection of covers with two originals. Despite owning the CD, I was really keen to add this to the record collection. It’s simply beautiful and it really does sound better (gritty) than the CD copy.

#16 Tom Waits – Bad As Me (Anti, 2011)

I finally decided to own this one of vinyl. I was weighing up buying Mule Variations, but decided I’d buy this one instead due to that darn 1537 blog (I really need to stop reading that). Chicago, Hell Broke Luce, Get Lost and Face To the Highway are some of my favourite Tom Waits songs and they happen to be on here. Mule Variations will wait. Plus, the booklet inside is real nice.

Next: Part 2 – #15 – #11

Leave a Reply

