“The sky was stapled stars on a dirty ceiling”: Jeff Angell’s Staticland (2016)

IMG_0113

Have I ever mentioned that I love Walking Papers?  Essentially the work of Jeff Angell and Barrett Martin, their debut album was a winner from the first song to the last.  It featured contributions from Angell’s Missionary Position bandmate Benjamin Anderson, ex-Gunner Duff McKagen, and Pearl Jam’s Mike McCready.  Anderson and Duff became permanent fixtures, of course – touring and recording album number two.

Unfortunately, and perhaps as a result of that Guns N’ Roses tour, the band are on a hiatus.  Bah.  Barrett Martin has enough projects to keep him busy, so Jeff Angell and Benjamin Anderson have recruited Joshua Font of Angell’s Post Stardom Depression for their latest project.

The result?  Well, Jeff Angell’s Staticland is a strange one.  Mostly filled with rolling and tumbling barroom rockers, but having some mainstream hooks, sweet melodies, and sing-along moments, the album sorta feels more like a pulling together of recordings.  There are some dirty blues rhythms, smoking solos, rolling drum patterns, driving bass lines and, as I’ve come to expect from Angell, knockout lines.  But, as much as the album has grown on me over the last several weeks, I can’t help but feel a bit of a disconnect between the first half of the album and the second.  Perhaps it’s just a handful of tracks too long?

Staticland

When the album’s good it’s really good.  Opener Everything Is Wrong moans like a winter storm and is so gritty that it sounds like Angell’s guitar strings haven’t been changed in quite sometime!  Band-Aid On A Bullet Hole floors me each time.  All drums and bass and rolling and tumbling, it’s a right moody bastard.  Angell and Anderson start to light it up … the rhythm and the guitar signature hypnotic.  It rocks and contains a helluva guitar solo and some of those lines that Angell has a habit of delivering (“I fed the horses fallen apples through a break I found in the barbed wire. In their eyes I saw a death and in their warm breath I felt what was a fire”).  Bam!  Knocked out cold.

As well as some revivalist rock n’ roll (more Rival Sons than Black Keys) during the likes of Never Look Back and Tomorrow’s Chore,  there’s a sprinkle of New Orleans shuffle during Nola, which I absolutely love.  Again, Angell’s on form with his delivery – his tone conversational and throw-away and his phrasing is brilliant when he spits “you’re on a long list of let downs, you no class ass clown”  and “you still have all your fingers, so I guess you’re doing all right. But you look just like the suburbs on an average, ordinary Saturday night”

Some would point to the swirling guitars and atmospherics on Staticland (particularly on High Score) and think “reminds me of U2” and I reckon I’d be a fool to deny it.  Though I would counter that the influence in the grooves is instead from Some Girls, Emotional Rescue, and Tattoo You.  Besides, when they nail that vibe like they do on The Edge (with all its galloping disco awesomeness) and High Score, I’d argue that there’s an urgency that you just wouldn’t find in a post-Achtung Baby U2 album.

Check out the video for High Score.  There’s the big U2 vibes I mentioned previously, but but this swirling and distorted vision of Staticland is as clear a view as you’ll find.  Like a last broadcast that just can’t be placed. “Let’s leave everything behind and ride into the undefined. I made up my mind, and if you’re so inclined, I need a witness”.

Elsewhere, Phantom Limb is a big crunching monster, coming on like something from Chinese Democracy before settling into a welcoming chorus.  The World’s Gonna Win is an incredible ode to fathers who don’t want to see their girls grow up and bringing home a young lad, and I’ll Find You is worthy of a mention, too.  It’s the kind of track you already know and while it does have a bit of U2 about it, there’s probably more Springsteen and Petty-isms.  A tale of escape with typical Angell phrasing.

As I listen and write, I reckon that this one has landed another one of those punches that leaves me reeling.  Freak and The Cure Or The Curse are the end of album highlights, with some brooding vibes, guitar lines and the likes that’s worth sticking around for.

While not perfect, Staticland is a dark and brooding record with enough hooks to lure you in time and time again.  Each time picking up a new favourite line, chime, note, and wail.  Like I just done again tonight.

IMG_0117

The album cover is brilliant and top marks for a really nicely put together LP.  There’s the sepia-toned knockout on the cover and some really nice looking labels on, wait for it, some even better looking translucent red vinyl.  The only downside is that the lyrics for the tracks on the first LP are printed on both inners … you’re on your own for the second slice!

22 Comments

  1. ‘Bandaid on a bullet hole’ is an excellent song title, isn’t it?
    Can certainly hear the U2 echoes you mention, but as the singers voice is not overly Bono-ish, it isn’t really super off-putting. Terrific guitar sound too.

    Like

    1. I thought so, Bruce. I like a good song title and often skim the back of new albums to see whether there’s some good titles on there! At least a third would suggest it might be worth investigating!

      And yeah, I think the sound on that is terrific, too. The whole album, actually. It struck me that some of those U-ish moments are more stadium Kings of Leon – when they got it right (like on Because Of The Times), as there’s certainly nothing as dreadful as Sex On Fire!

      Like

  2. Hooray for the return of our masterful J.! And with a record I’ve heard somewhere (I can’t imagine where)…

    AND you’ve absolutely nailed it. I was reading along and nodding and by the end I thought yes, that’s what I thought too!

    Thanks for introducing me to Walking Papers and this one too. Long live the great tunes!

    PS Love that pic of the red vinyl. Love how the dude is peeking through. Cool and creepy effect!

    Like

  3. I do love that red vinyl!

    I have to confess: this record was actually playing when I was in my local record shop perusing an afternoon away. It was on the tail end so I only heard a song or two but I kind of dismissed it. Now I hope I get to hear it again so I can see what I was missing. I usually find I agree with you, and the things that you’ve pointed me toward have always been bang-on.

    Like

    1. Well J you continue to introduce me to new music I have never heard of before. I like that track you posted there. I agree about the urgency factor. I like this.

      Like

      1. Thanks, Mike. I’m glad you like – I’d imagine you would find a lot to like on this one in that case!

        Like

    2. Cheers, Jay – I also dismissed some of this album initially. I think my expectations were too high … but it’s grown on me a good bit.

      Like

  4. It does have a tug of Achtung-era U2 in that track you posted. I like Angell’s voice, too. Not familiar with him or the band, but I’m a big fan of Barrett Martin. Part of that whole Seattle mystique from a bygone era that I grew up on. I’ll have to dig back into the older stuff.

    Nice one…and love that red vinyl.

    Like

    1. Barrett Martin is awesome, huh? One of my favourite musicians – if I didn’t follow what he was up to I’d never have heard Walking Papers or this! I reckon this is worth owning just for the vinyl. It’s the kind you just look at!

      But aye, Walking Papers is worth investigating (nice clear vinyl – I’ll post about it soon!).

      Like

Leave a Reply

