I might not have an awfy lot of time, but the time I do have I spend listening to records.  Or talking about my favourite albums or stuff that interests me at that particular time (like Houdini, the performance of my Fantasy Premier League team, the latest Steven Seagal flick, the new Rogue One trailer, or when I’m likely to sit down and watch The Walking Dead or Jessica Jones).  Just stuff, y’know?

I recently bought some new records.  I already mentioned that I was pre-ordering the 20th Anniversary Edition Black Love, so I’ll not say any more about how it’s one of my favourite albums by one of my favourite bands.  It arrived yesterday.  Really pretty excellent looking 3-LP set.  The album remastered and spread over two LPs, which is ideal for an album with that kinda run-time (52 minutes).

The Afghan Whigs - Black Love (20th Anniversary Edition)

Another album that I managed to snap up was Like, Love, Lust & The Open Halls of the Soul by Jesse Sykes & The Sweet Hereafter.  It’s a fair few years old now, but it’s one I’ve been after a while.  Not one I’ve ever seen in the wild (or was likely to see), but I found it on Discogs for £10.  Another £5 on the postage costs, but even at £15 it was a no-brainer.  Typical of Southern Lord, really.  A great sounding record on a quality slice of vinyl (well, two slices, both pink and peach marbled vinyl, too) and housed in a heavyweight sleeve.  Only 300 of these, so I was mighty chuffed to find a copy.

Jesse Sykes & The Sweet Hereafter - Like, Love, Lust & The Open Halls of the Soul

Anyhoo, these are two swell albums.  Real favourites.  I’ll talk about them a bit more some other time.  Right now I’m gonna listen and catch-up with some of the stuff you guys have been writing that I’ve missed.  I may even have a cup of tea.

24 thoughts on ““Look, there’s fluffy bunny rabbits on this one”

  1. mmmmmmmmm peach marbled vinyl!
    I was reading on Canadian Cinephile’s site recently, Seagal has churned out at least 6 movies this year? No wonder there’s not much time for other things, it’s hard enough just to keep up with his filmography!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s beautiful vinyl, Geoff.

      Seagal’s output this year had been incredible. Rumour is he spends a couple of weeks on set and then leaves for the next project. I actually still haven’t seen any of his 2016 releases!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Nice write up Fella…
    Always cool getting new albums etc.
    Here in Tbay a new record shop opened as the old owner sold it but the new guy that purchased it is giving it a real go…
    He closed shop for a few weeks to set up his ordering stuff and to bring new stuff in and at his opening this past weekend he had live entertainment food and a section called Dive In… which was a bunch of albums that you could get at any price but you had to make a donation etc…
    Real solid guy trying to make a go of it…
    I have no idea where i’m going with this …hahahha

    Like

    1. Haha! Man, I love this… didn’t need to go anywhere with it. It’s great that folks love music enough that they want to distribute it to the masses. Living the dream right there…

      Liked by 1 person

  3. The pictures you have been posted have looked so fab-ooo-lous! I don’t know these albums….and like Deke I have no idea where I’m going with this…but I know I wish I had more time to read, and to listen!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Cheers, buddy. They’re two really great albums… I couldn’t recommend them highly enough. I’ll tell you all about them… honestly… just give me a few months / years.

      Like

  4. Pink and peach marbled. Is it wrong that I’m as excited by that as I am about the music? I am so susceptible to these ploys!

    Also, to be honest, I needed help spelling susceptible.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

