The Best Band In The Whole Damn Land

Lift To Experience

So, I’m currently sitting listening to Lift To Experience’s The Texas-Jerusalem Crossroads.  This has been a favourite of mine since I first heard it about 12 years ago.  I was a little late to hop aboard the Lift To Experience train, y’see.  Missed it, actually.  By the time I got into these guys, they had long split.  Aside from the odd gig and odd recording, Josh T. Pearson had pretty much disappeared.  His co-conspirators awfy quiet, too.  The only evidence of their existence was this incredible album.

You can imagine how pleased I was when they announced that they were reforming for a few shows last year.  Could this mean they’ll be writing and recording again?  A tour!?  Oh!  But what’s this!?  Mute, announced a reissue of The Texas-Jerusalem Crossroads was due to land on February 3rd.  Not just any reissue, either; a definitive version.  A new mix, remastered, and with nice revised artwork.  And for those who want vinyl there’s lovely blue and red slices of awesome.  As God intended.  So, I’ve had this pre-ordered since November and I was really pretty excited about it.

As you can imagine, I was pretty gutted it didn’t arrive on Friday.  However, Monday night apocalyptic gospel works just peachy for me.  As I sit here listening to this new ‘definitive version’ I’m reminded of that first time with The Texas-Jerusalem Crossroads.  The new mix is incredible.  It’s loud and dynamic.  I’m excited.  I’m in awe.  I’m inspired.  It reminds me that it’s tracked live with just one guitar.  And man, that rhythm section… so many things I’m hearing for the first time.  This is how music should sound.  This is how it should grab you.

“When America falls the World will fall with her”.

Indeed.

I’ll write a bit more about this one at some point soon.  Right now I just want to soak it all in.  Again.

22 Comments

    1. Yeah. My excitement hasn’t dampened any yet… had to be pulled from the ceiling when the album finished. Incredible. This’ll be my release of the year. It shall not be bettered. No sir.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. They’re impressive, eh?

      That’s probably the most accessible track. The whole album is a storm. And it’s now louder and more, eh, stormy.

      Like

    1. It has. It’s been pretty much the only thing I’ve listened to this last week (a few exceptions). The timing of this couldn’t be any more perfect given the fucked up nature of things currently.

      Like

Leave a Reply

