Did I mention that the new Afghan Whigs album came out last Friday?  I pre-ordered it and, aside from hearing the three tracks shared by the Whigs prior to its release, I managed to avoid the album stream until I got my hands on the LP.  It arrived Monday, so I had a bit of catching up to do.

I’ve listened to this thing a few times (I’ve taken advantage of the digital download post-haste and it’s been the sole soundtrack to my commute the last few days) and it’s a darker record than 2014’s Do To The Beast.  I’m still wrapping my head around it, but it’s a pretty incredible piece of work.  Hearing the three tracks within the context of the album really brought something quite powerful to the tracks that I didn’t appreciate.  I can’t quite explain it, but I know you know what I mean.

The whole thing is wonderful, though.  From the artwork right to the sequencing (spot on and brings out the best in each track).  It’s short too; weighing in at 10 tracks and 36 minutes.  The shortest Afghan Whigs album to date.

Dulli & Co. have made something special.

I dare say I’ll write about this properly, but this is an album of the year contender for sure.

 

25 thoughts on “Caught in the spell of stormy weather

    1. It’s fairly brilliant, Danica. I don’t know if it’s better than Do To The Beast, but I would recommend it. Very accessible, too (even though it’s dark). I added the latest music video to the post, but I see the full album is now streaming on YouTube.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah – it actually appears that the interest in vinyl is resulting in more 40-odd minute albums, as I appear to have bought a fair few recently. Reckon that’s a good thing.

      Like

  1. A band I still need to explore. I’m all for shorter albums if they’re concisely excellent, as this one seems to be. And it sounds like a gift that will keep on giving, too. SCORE!

    Like

  2. Wow I’m shocked! Thanks for the heads up. I really had no idea they were releasing a new album, and your post drove me to their site and they’re doing a huge tour to support the record. I may book a day off work in October and go and see them closest to my home in San Diego. Thanks again

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I like those tunes that don’t necessarily stand out as stand-alones but work much better in the album context – and anytime a new album becomes the sole soundtrack for a while, that’s an encouraging sign!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah, it’s a sign of a strong album, huh? I dare say I’ll have a favourite track soon enough!

      I have a feeling the album will be soundtracking tomorrow’s commute also!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Wow, who knew? I did not, which probably means I fell off a notification list at some point. So it’s good? I never remember to do the digital download and if I don’t do it right away, I lose it.

    Like

    1. A few listens in I can confidently state that it’s a pretty exceptional album. Not dissimilar to Do To The Beast (in that it blurs the lines between Afghan Whigs and Twilight Singers), but there’s some of that signature guitar sparring going on.

      I tend to sit the codes next to the record player so I remember, but I do redeem them right away for releases like this.

      Like

      1. I throw them in my nightstand, which is where i find them 6 months later. I need a better system. Or, perhaps no system, and just buckling down to do it right away.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I used to have a wee envelope. I’d throw them all in there and then wait till there was a few. Then I’d forget what was there… found I’d used a few too.

        Like

Leave a Reply

