So, I’ve been listening to the new Queens of the Stone Age track, The Way You Used To Do, a helluva lot since it appeared on YouTube the other week.  It’s a belter.  A real groover. I’ve been declaring it the best track I’ve heard this year.  Nothing to do with Homme & Co. being one of my favourite bands.  No, sir… not at all.

As you can imagine, I’m fairly excited about the news of their new album, Villains (which apparenty doesn’t include a single guest appearance).  In fact, you could say I’m about as excited as my pal over at Heavy Metal Overload (Ha!).

See, as well as the warped Rolling Stones-esque rock n’ roll riffage that keeps the whole thing going, Homme’s vocal is all slinky and sinister and the bass and those hard swinging drums kill.  This is Elvis fronting ZZ Zeppelin.  There’s some excellent verses in there, too – specifically the second – “Is love mental disease or lucky fever dream? Fine with either. Gave birth to monsters who will terrorise normalcy – yeah” and “My heart, a ding-a-ling. A puppet on a string”.

“The title Villains isn’t a political statement. It has nothing to do with Trump or any of that shit. It’s simply 1) a word that looks fantastic and 2) a comment on the three versions of every scenario: yours, mine and what actually happened… Everyone needs someone or something to rail against — their villain — same as it ever was. You can’t control that. The only thing you can really control is when you let go”

Homme has handed the production reigns to Mark Ronson this time around and, if The Way You Used To Do is anything to go by, it sounds like he’s done a stellar job.  According to Homme he was recruited cause he liked the sound of Uptown Funk. I don’t think I’ve ever heard that track.  I know.  But I bet it doesn’t sound as good as this.

2013’s …Like Clockwork is my go to Queens of the Stone Age album and I reckon this sounds like it might be a continuation of the organic grooves Homme & Co. had going on there (with a wee bit of that Era Vulgaris voodoo lingering in the air).

Anyhoo, all I’m saying is I’m mad about it.

The album is due August 25th and I’ve got that thing pre-ordered.  Opted for the ‘deluxe’ version with the prints (Boneface being in charge of the artwork again), though that’s always subject to change (what am I gonna do with 14 art prints, right?).

Anyhoo, it’s only July.  Bah.  I guess I’ll just have to boogie until August 25th.

 

 

26 thoughts on “Best track I’ve heard this year.

  1. It’s certainly bouncy. I liked first spin, grateful for the breakdown in the middle, the wee bits that change it up – otherwise 4:15 would have been too long for the one idea. It’ll likely grow on me. I’m not the hugest QotSA guy but thanks for the heads-up!

    Like

    1. The breakdown is superb… I know it’s only the YouTube audio, but I love the sound of the bass and drums on this and the breakdown really highlights the sound.

      Like

    1. Completely agree! It’s been a great year for me release wise – new albums from Duke Garwood, Mark Lanegan, The Afghan Whigs, Danny & The Champions of the World and Queens of the Stone Age! Lawd ha’ murcy!

      Like

  2. I’ve never gotten into any Queens stuff aside from Songs for the Deaf. I have no clue why. They’re other stuff isn’t bad, it just just doesn’t grab me the same way.

    Like

    1. Songs for the Deaf is a very accessible album and very different from the rest of their discography. I know a couple of folks who really like that one without really bothering with the band…

      What’s your thoughts on Them Crooked Vultures?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I’m embarrassed that it’s been 5 days and I still haven’t listened. I will eventually. One of these days it’s bound to happen.

        Like

      2. I get like that sometimes. Too little time, too much music. I reckon there’s a chance you’ll dig. Premise is that it’s a genuine ‘supergroup’, but I tend to look past the members and that label. Besides, it still sounds very much like a Queens of the Stone Age album.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Uptown Funk is a great track!
    That’s interesting to hear he’ll be producing QOTSA, I wouldn’t have pictured that collaboration – which may be why it works so well, it’s atypical!

    Like

    1. Truth be told, I have heard it, but couldn’t tell you how it goes. I’ll hit it up on the YouTube.

      But yeah, an unexpected collaboration, though I’m looking forward to hearing the end result… I reckon it could be special!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

