My fondness of Duran Duran comes from my fondness of Guns N’ Roses.  Not a link that some would make, so I’ll risk boring those who can make that link by, well, detailing the link.  No need for any of that 6 degrees of separation shenanigans, either.  Here goes… GN’R’s Duff McKagen and Matt Sorum were in the Neurotic Outsiders with Duran Duran’s Johnny Taylor.

Learning about Duran Duran in the early 2000s (as you do), I quickly found out that Johnny Taylor was a) interesting and b) cool.  So too was Andy Taylor.  They were right into their rock and roll.  The Power Station, however, wasn’t really on my radar.  I knew Harvest For The World, but that was about it.  That just really wasn’t my jam.  Anyhoo, I’d seen the album often enough for £2.99 in the Record Fayre over the years and I had been tempted to pick it up, but each time I picked it up I heard the chorus of Harvest For The World.  So the LP went back in the rack.

The Power Station album cropped up during some online social media chat about Andy Taylor’s Thunder and I set off on a journey through the dimly lit alleyways of YouTube.  I decided that Some Like It Hot was one of the greatest songs I had ever heard.  It’s a truly outstanding piece of music.

Typically, the Record Fayre – where I have seen a copy during every single visit over the last several years – no longer had it.  To recap episode #144:

“… ah, the Duran boy? Went a while ago” said the chap as he stood up, “strange, cause I had about 10 of them downstairs… couldn’t give them away for so long”.  By this point he’s flicking through the 80s and 90s LPs.  I told him about how I’ve recently discovered its awesomeness.  He nodded, “I think a few others discovered that too”.  He did look through the Palmer records just to see if a copy was in there.  But there wasn’t.

So, naturally, I cursed the skies and whoever was out buying up 80’s Duran Duran related pop-rock albums.  How very dare they ruin my day life like that!

Fortunately, one of the friends involved in the chat a few months ago happened to have a copy.  He asked me a few weeks ago while we were in the studio working on some musical stuffs if I ever picked it up.  “No”, says I (relaying the tale of woe from episode #144).  “Well, here you go”.

The first side is perfect in every single way.  One of the finest sides of music I have ever heard.

I genuinely love this album and I’ll write more about it when I get the chance.

 

35 thoughts on “Some Like It Hot

  1. It’s interesting that John and Andy went for a rock/funk side project. Andy was always a rocker and John was heavily influenced by Chic which leads directly to The Power Station. I loved their version of “Get It On” (Andy’s guitar playing is awesome), and this record is far better than Simon, Nick and Roger’s Arcadia record of the same period.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Get It On is one of my favourite tracks here. I’ve been trying to find the time to finish a ‘review’ of sorts and that’s a noted highlight. I never heard Arcadia, actually…

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Well! I LOVE this album. All of it. Even Harvest for the World. Brings me right back to a young tender age, and I think the album still holds up! Magical.
    I do think Arcadia is worth a listen too. It’s more artistic than Power Station, but still worth a listen.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I actually didn’t mention how Harvest For The World has won me over! It’s the lowest point in the album, though… but I don’t dislike it. I just think the eldest of it is so strong.

      And yes! I was surprised how well the album stands up now. I’m looking for a copy of the second album, though I know John Taylor had stepped away by that point.

      I’ll add Arcadia to the list.

      Like

  3. Never tempt the record gods. I’ve played that game, picking up an album and putting it back down and then picking it up again next time, too many times and have been burned every damned time. Glad it worked out for you in the end.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah. I’d like to say I’ve learned my lesson, but it wouldn’t be the first time I’ve said it! I’ve been burned a few times… fairly recently I had dilly dallied on a copy of American Music Club’s Everclear for weeks… months… yet when I went to get it it was gone. Bah.

      But aye, this one… hurrah!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. That has always been the paradox with Duran Duran for me. I’ll be the first to say that they were all, especially the Taylor brothers, good musicians. However, I never really cared for their music except for “Hungry Like the Wolf” and “New Moon on Monday.” The Power Station gave the brothers a better chance to show what they were capable of.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I really do like Duran Duran (the two tracks you mentioned are great), but The Power Station is something else entirely. I don’t know who’s responsible for it.

      But aye, it allowed the Taylors (unrelated, believe it or not!) the chance to shine a bit more.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

